Log in

Log in

Don’t end up on the Dark Side of the Duck! The Duck Island race is HHYC’s long distance race. There were many years when the best sailors amongst us have been stuck on the Dark Side of the Duck. Keeping this in mind, HHYC has tried to make the Duck more civilized. We have developed Plans B, C, and D just in case the wind is blowing the Duck off the pond, or well you know…the dark side thing again. We will follow up our race with a Cook Your Own Steak or Chicken Dinner followed by awards.

Saturday August 19, 2023

    • Skippers Meeting: 8:00am
    • Start: 9:00am

    Notice of Race
    Sailing Instructions

    Course Descriptions
    Online Registration (can also register onsite Saturday morning)
    Order Dinners


    NEW - Get your Duck Island shirts here:

      For more info contact Dave Poulin at

      Results:  2022 2021 2020  2019  2018    Pictures

      2022 Race start

      2018 Pictures

      Race History

      1967            Henry Eastbrook, North Star
      1968            Jay Lewis, Grenadier
      1969            George Couch, Black Pearl
      1970            Donald Lewis, Hobo
      1971            Wendell George Jr., Georgy Girl
      1972            Owen Morgan, Bloody Mary
      1973            Mike George, Georgy Girl
      1974            Mike George, Georgy Girl
      1975            Mike George, Windance
      1976            R.A. Mickler, Margaret II
      1977            John Condino, Hobo
      1978            George Caste, Avis
      1979            Les Deming, Intuition
      1980            A.J. Schneider, Gimlet II
      1981            Les Deming, Intuition
      1982            A.J. Schneider
      1983            Peter Couch, CU-7 
      1984            Roger White, Whitewash 
      1985            Will Carter, Zepher 
      1986            Roger White, Whitewash 
      1987            Roger White, Whitewash 
      1988            George Couch, Black Pearl III 
      1989            George Couch, Black Pearl IV 
      1990            No race was recorded 
      1991            Art Bronstein, Hambone 
      1992            Hurricane Andrew! 
      1993            Art Bronstein, Hambone 
      1994            No race recorded 
      1995            Dave Poulin, Contender 
      1996            Tom Harig, Atlantis 
      1997            Dave Poulin, Contender 
      1998            Joe Rosenfeld, Restless 
      1999-2001    Dave Poulin, Rambunctious 
      2002            Joe Rosenfeld, Restless 
      2003            Peter Hrabchak, Tigger 
      2004            Dave Poulin, Rambunctious 
      2005            Dan Machold, Promises Promises 
      2006            No race was recorded 
      2007            Dave Poulin, Rambunctious 
      2008            Phillip Zell, Lapwing 
      2009            Pete Hrabchak, Tigger 
      2010            Dan Machold, Promises Promises 
      2011-2012    Canaan Leonard, Velocity Girl
      2013            Dave Poulin, Rambunctious 
      2014-2015    Pete Hrabchak, Tigger
      2016            Not sailed, weather
      2017            Marshall Reutlinger, E-Motion

      2018            Canaan Leonard, Velocity Girl

      2019            Canaan Leonard, Velocity Girl

      2020            Dan Machold, Promises Promises

      2021            Tom Tomlinson, Time Warp

      2022            Dave Poulin, Rukus 

      2023            Dave Poulin, Rukus 

      Duck Island Boats Under 29 Feet L.O.A. 

      1973            Joan Treadwell, Rascal 
      1974            Sea Kite 
      1975            Charley Bangs, Mollie B 
      1976            A. J. Schneider, Gimlet 
      1977            Charley Bangs, Mollie B 
      1978-1986    Jack Jones, Bonhomme Richard 
      1987-1988    Gemutlichkeit 
      1989             No winner recorded 
      1990             Jack Jones, Bonhomme Richard
      1991             No winner recorded 
      1992-1993     Three Deuces 
      1994             Blue J 
      1995             Lee Cagwin, Charisma 
      1996             Joan Woods, Weasel 
      1997             No winner recorded 
      1998             Joan Woods, Weasel 
      1999             No winner recorded 
      2000             Junkyard Dawg 
      2001             No winner recorded 
      2002             Tar Baby II 
      2004-2009     no winner recorded 
      2010             Tom Tomlinson, Bluescape 
      2011             None entered 
      2012             Tom Tomlinson Time Warp

      2021             Tom Tomlinson Time Warp

      Duck Island White Sails

      In 2007 Marshall Reutlinger established a new trophy for the White Sails division in the Duck Island Race. As the popularity of white sails racing grows, HHYC recognized the need to score and reward this growing fleet separately.

      198?             Leo Johnson, Jolie Dame 
      2007             Lee Cagwin, Solitaire 
      2008             Jim Farrell, Love Shack 
      2008             West End of the Duck: John Reidy, Lollygagger 
      2009             Jim Farrell, Love Shack 
      2011             Jim Farrell, Love Shack 
      2012             Ross Jacobs, Saucy 
      2012             West End of the Duck: Don Peters, Pyrat
      2014             Paul Slack, Salubrity
      2015             Ed Siemons, Red Head
      2016-2017     No entries

      2018             Jim Farrell, Love Shack

      2019             William Walton, Symmetry

      Copyright 2018 Henderson Harbor Yacht Club
      Henderson Harbor Yacht Club is a 501(c)(7) non-profit organization. 8397 Cornell Road, Henderson Harbor, NY 13651

      Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software